What this site publishes about your station
and what claiming the listing does, in plain English.
motcost.com publishes a page for every MOT test station in the DVSA's active list with enough of a record to describe: 9,117 of 22,858 stations in the snapshot dated 2026-09-30. The rest appear as rows on their district page. The page exists whether or not anyone at the garage ever visits it, because the DVSA list is a public record and this site is a directory of it alongside what an MOT costs.
We did not ask garages for the data and we did not buy it. Every fact on a listing comes from the DVSA's own dataset, published under the Open Government Licence v3.0, with the source and snapshot date on the page. Nothing on a listing is a review, a ranking or a recommendation, no garage can buy a position on this site, and nothing here is endorsed by the DVSA.
What claiming gives you
Claiming is free, and it stays free for the things a driver needs: your website, your phone, whether you do free retests, whether you are taking bookings, and every correction. The Enhanced tier at £99 a year plus VAT is the part where the garage describes itself, marked below. Everything you add appears in its own panel, dated and labelled as supplied by the garage, below the DVSA facts and never mixed into them.
- About the garageEnhanced £99/yr
- Up to 600 characters in the garage's own words. Shown in its own panel, labelled as supplied by the garage.
- What else you doEnhanced £99/yr
- Servicing, diagnostics, tyres, air-conditioning, bodywork and so on. The MOT classes above come from the DVSA and cannot be edited.
- Opening hoursEnhanced £99/yr
- Including Saturdays, which is what most people are looking for.
- Online booking linkEnhanced £99/yr
- Your own booking page, on your own domain.
- Website
- The DVSA register carries none, so this is the only website the page shows.
- Booking phone
- Shown beside the DVSA register number, which stays on the page.
- Free retest
- Yes, no, or not stated. A policy, not a price.
- Taking bookings
- Yes, no, or not stated. Dated on the page and expires after 90 days.
Free text is checked before it is published: no ranking or endorsement claims (“best”, “leading”, “award-winning”), nothing implying DVSA endorsement, no price figures in free text, no links in free text, and nothing untrue or misleading. A first edit is read by a person before it goes into a build.
Why there is no price box
The MOT fee is capped by law and most garages charge less than the cap, so what you charge is genuinely useful to a driver. We still do not let you type it here, because a figure typed once goes stale, and stale prices are the one thing this site cannot afford to publish: telling people what an MOT actually costs is its whole job. Link your own price page instead and it stays current, and your listing sits alongside the sourced ranges we publish.
What claiming never changes
The DVSA record: station name, VTS number, the classes you are approved to test, the address and postcode, the district and region, the register phone number and the snapshot date. Only the DVSA can change those. If one is wrong, correct it with them and this site follows at the next weekly refresh. Claiming also does not move your station in any list, and there is no position here to buy.
How we check it is really you
A person does. The DVSA dataset gives a phone number but no email address and no website, so there is nowhere this site could send an automatic verification link. Email [email protected] from the garage, quoting the VTS number from your listing. We check it against the DVSA list, and ring the register number if there is any doubt, before sending a one-time link that opens the editor.
We keep the verified address while the claim is active, to sign you in and to send notices about the listing, and for 90 days after you release it. We do not publish garage email addresses on this site.
The badge, and what it is not
A claimed listing shows “Maintained by this test centre”. That means someone at the garage keeps the garage-supplied parts current. It is not a verification of workmanship, an approval, an accreditation or an endorsement by this site or the DVSA, and it says nothing the DVSA list does not already say about your authorisation.
The full agreement is in the listing terms. Corrections and removals are free and do not need a claim.
Source: DVSA, active MOT test stations, snapshot 2026-09-30. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.